Early Days

If we cannot tell a story about what has happened to us, nothing has happened to us.

Lately I’ve been reflecting on the past few years of my life. I’ve been trying to piece together how I got here. I think it comes down to being innately curious about people and actively surrounding myself with the most interesting people I can find.

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and becoming close friends with entrepreneurs, artists, and engineers that are changing the world we live in.

The first person I ever met on Twitter was Kevin Abstract.

I met Kevin in 2013. He tweeted his phone number, I FaceTime’d him, and we kept in touch over iMessage for the next few months.

Kevin went on to build Brockhampton: one of the most prolific music groups of our generation.

This taught me the power of Twitter and meeting people on the Internet. Just a few clicks and you can become friends with people that are shaping the world we live in.

Coming from Oklahoma, this was huge to me. There weren’t many people in my area that were doing things that interested me. Now I could hop online and meet people from anywhere in the world. People that wanted to create things, people that wanted to build the future.

As I started getting more interested in technology and design, I kept this same thesis. Everyone you could ever want to meet is accessible through platforms that have already been built. Use these platforms to your advantage and you can make cool shit happen. It’s worked out so far.

Over the past few years I’ve had the opportunity of meeting some of the biggest names in design, teenagers who own multi-million dollar companies, and various artists that regularly hit the Billboard Top 100 charts. Even writing this feels unreal to me. By every circumstance, I shouldn’t have had access to these people. But the Internet made it possible.

I’m forever thankful for the relationships I’ve made using my iPhone. The craziest part is thinking about how fast all of this happened.

We’re just getting started. Early days. I don’t even own a chair yet, I’m writing this from my floor. My back is hurting or I would write more.

Peace ✌️

 
48
Kudos
 
48
Kudos

Now read this

3%

In order to make something great you only need to change the existing layer by 3%. I think most people are held back by the fear of not producing something completely original. Nothing is so good that it can’t be made better. Many of the... Continue →